Wizards House 1 – Ron and Hermione Weasley

Simons Wizard House 1

Simons Wizard House 1 – Ron and Hermione Weasley

Harry Potter was first read to me in Budapest.  Wife had picked up a copy of the first book at the airport and after the first chapter stopped and said I should read it.  “Its a kiddies book” I moaned.  Wife started reading out loud from the start.  By the end of the first chapter I did not want her to stop.  This led to a long love affair with of reading out loud to each other.  Mainly kiddies fiction, Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, Toby Alone, The Wind Singer, Northern Lights the list goes on and on all read out loud to each other.  JK Rowlings discriptions of Wizard houses led me to pointing them out as we drive arround.  Sometimes they are the Burrow, the Leaky cauldron or Grimmauld place sometimes where I’d imagine Snape living.

I grew up in the next street to this one on an ordinary street in Ipswich surrounded by red brick semi-detached houses.  This is most definitely a Wizards house.  Who lives there.  I think its Ron and Hermione after they’re  married.

Probably the best children’s book ever:  Toby Alone

PS.  Growing up and passing this on the top deck of the No. 2 bus with my mate Ginger and his dad,  they convinced me that if you went in this house they would blow you up like a balloon and bounce you around.  I was young but it does not stop me even now from being a tiny bit anxious at the thought of ever going in there!

 

Leave a Reply

