Mug Snob

The Abomination!

The Abomination!

I’m a mug snob.  I judge EVERYONE by the mug they give me to drink out of.  Thus I judge myself by the mugs I give my family and friends to drink from.

The mug rules are quite simple:

1.  It must have straight sides
2.  It must be the same width at the bottom and top.  NO Tapering mugs!
3.  Graphics must be plain, stylish and simple and NOT funny (Unless vintage!)

When we picked up Boy from his week with Nanna he greeted us with hugs and a big shout of “I got you presents“.  Inwardly I groan never being one to shield my dislike of a gift I don’t like.   (Even from a seven year old with a great big smile on his face.  I know – BOO HISS ME….  )

So….A bar of chocolate for me – great, inoffensive  it was instantly opened and shared then Wife was given the most revolting mug I’ve ever seen.  Two colours purple with a graphic which I still see when I close my eyes.  It features her name and the following crass little poem:

Wife’s the one whose special
A well cool babe its true
Because she’s such a groovy gal
and funky through and through.

The thought of this abomination on my open kitchen mug shelf turns my tummy.  It sits there amongst mugs I’ve taken a lifetime choosing, gloating and being all purple.  I can’t bring myself to ‘accidentally‘ break it so have resolved to only give this mug to people I’m upset or cross with.  Boys getting it for the next year such will be my revenge for his causing this Abomination to enter my home.

Leave a Reply

